Salzburg Festival: Opening Concert 2011

In the Mahler year 2011, the eminent Pierre Boulez conducted the
traditional opening concert of the Wiener Philharmoniker at the Salzburg
Festival. The concert begins with the "Lulu Suite" by Mahler's pupil Alban
Berg. The music for the tragic temptress is sung here by the "dazzling"
(Der Standard) young soprano Anna Prohaska. In Berg's concert aria "Der
Wein", Dorothea Röschmann delivers a "masterful interpretation" (Die
Presse). The main work of the concert is Mahler's "Das klagende Lied" - a
"great spectral opera for the mind's eye" (Wiener Zeitung) scored for
massive orchestral and choral forces.

Composer: Alban Berg, Gustav Mahler
Title: Salzburg Festival: Opening Concert 2011
Conductor: Pierre Boulez
Soloist: Anna Prohaska, Dorothea Röschmann, Anna Larsson, Johan Botha
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Chorus: Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor
Video Director: Michael Beyer
Genre: Concert
Length: 86 minutes
Cat.No.: A045006330000
DVD         Blu-ray         Flyer