RCO - Beethoven, Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123

Beethoven's Missa solemnis is the largest and longest of the composer's non-stage works. This magnificent choral piece, composed between 1819 and 1823, presented a great personal struggle for Beethoven, who famously inscribed the top of the score with the words “From the heart – may it return to the heart.” With this performance Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Honorary Guest Conductor of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, once more attained the status of a living legend. The highly acclaimed soloists are Marlis Petersen (Soprano), Elisabeth Kulman (Alto), Werner Güra (Tenor) and Gerald Finley (Bass).They are accompanied by the famous Netherlands Radio Choir.

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Title: RCO - Beethoven, Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
Soloist: Marlis Petersen, Elisabeth Kulman, Werner Güra, Gerald Finley
Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Chorus: Netherlands Radio Choir
Video Director: Joost Honselaar
Genre: Concert
Length: 93 minutes
Cat.No.: A86000598
DVD         Blu-ray         Flyer