With "Paganini" (Vienna, 1925), his 25th stage work, Franz Lehár began an
impressive new creative period that was intimately linked to his
collaboration with the famous tenor Richard Tauber. The rejuvenation of
Lehár's creative powers enabled him to reach new artistic heights. The
enormous success achieved by these works prove how right he was in not
merely trying to make people laugh, but also to provide them with
emotionally moving situations. One of the most beautiful melodies in the
work is "Gern hab' ich die Frau'n geküsst", which summarizes Paganini's
entire world and reflects the composer's inimitable grace and charm.

Composer: Franz Lehár
Title: Paganini
Conductor: Wolfgang Ebert
Staged By: Eugen York
Soloist: Antonio Theba, Teresa Stratas, Johannes Heesters, Dagmar Koller, Peter Kraus
Set: Gerd Staub
Orchestra: Symphonieorchester Kurt Graunke
Video Director: Eugen York
Genre: Operetta
Length: 108 minutes
Cat.No.: A05004512
Gallery         DVD         

This production is released on DVD by Dreamlife in Japan.