Berlioz, Harold in Italy, op.16

In November 1976, one year after his triumphal performance of the Berlioz
Requiem, a bearded Leonard Bernstein returned to Paris to conduct the
Orchestre National de France. In two highly publicized concerts given at
Paris' Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, he conducted Berlioz's "Symphonie
Fantastique" and "Harold in Italy", in addition to two works by Darius
Milhaud, Bloch's "Schelomo Rhapsody" and Schumann's Cello Concerto, the
latter two featuring the celebrated cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. The
concerts were unanimously hailed in the press, both for the dynamism and
brio of a conductor at the peak of his artistic powers, and for the
unmistakable signs of rejuvenation of the Orchestre National de France.

Composer: Hector Berlioz
Title: Berlioz, Harold in Italy, op.16
Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
Soloist: Donald McInnes
Orchestra: Orchestre National de France
Video Director: Humphrey Burton
Genre: Concert
Length: 50 minutes
Cat.No.: A05501076